Opportunity Zones

About Opportunity Zones

Opportunity Zones are a new community development program established by Congress in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 to encourage long-term private sector investments in targeted urban and rural communities nationwide. The Opportunity Zones program provides a tax incentive for investors to re-invest their unrealized capital gains into Opportunity Funds that are dedicated to investing into designated Opportunity Zones. The fund invests at least 90% of its assets in Opportunity Zone properties, either directly or through qualifying corporations or partnerships.

How to Invest in Opportunity Zones

Source: FundRise

The figure above illustrates how an investor’s potential after-tax returns compare. Detailed examples can be found in the LEAP Opportunity Zones Fact Sheet.

Region 7 Opportunity Zone Map

  • Clinton County (1): City of St. Johns
  • Eaton County (1): City of Charlotte
  • Ingham County (8): City of East Lansing, City of Lansing
  • Shiawassee County (1): City of Owosso